The Postal Center is open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 4 p.m., including during lunch.

May 2021 Postal Center Temp Location

Mail drop off after hours is available in the mailbox hallway, which is the 5th door in the North corridor just before the Postal Center. A USPS mail drop box is also available at the end of the driveway, which is regularly checked and mail is taken to the distribution center.

Town Hall Administration Offices have been renovated and are open for business 8-4:30, closed for lunch 12-1.

Town Hall Admin & Postal Center Renovations June 2021

Public Safety Administration offices are open Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. except on approved holidays and are normally closed from 12:00 p.m. to 1:00 p.m. for lunch.

Below is information about the office or services of the Town Manager, the Town Clerk, the Finance Department, and the Postal Center. The Building Department information is on the right. Please contact the Town Manager or Town Clerk for information about our Public Works Department, which consists of two full-time employees, Larry Bryant and Max Wiltzius. The Public Safety Department has their own website (click here), in addition to this page within this site.

+ Organization Chart
+ Collective Bargaining Agreement 2019-2022

The Building Department webpage is full of helpful information for homeowners and contractors to research various home-related matters. Please click on the link above or on the image below. All Contractor Forms are located on that page or on the Doing Business page.

Building Department 2021

Town Manager

Jim Harpring, Town Manager

The Town Manager is a chartered position reporting to the Town Council. The Town Manager is primarily responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Town, and guides the department heads for Public Safety, Building/Planning & Zoning, Maintenance, Accounting and the Postal Center. The Town Manager and Town Clerk work closely to ensure that optimum service is provided to our residents.

Jim Harpring was appointed as Town Manager on April 22, 2021. Mr. Harpring operates under the open door policy, and is ready to hear what the residents and business owners have to say. Appointments for his time are appreciated, and may be made by email to or by calling 772-231-1771, extension 200.

Executive Assistant to the Town Manager
In December 2018, Michelle "Chelley" Pallo became the Town Clerk's full-time assistant. In December 2021 she was promoted to this position. Her primary duties include managing the Community Center, serving as the interface between residents and Republic Services, and assisting both the Town Manager and the Clerk with all varieties of tasks. Chelley is also a Notary Public and is in the process of becoming a Certified Municipal Clerk (CMC), an accreditation through the International Institute of Municipal Clerk (IIMC) which is afforded to members of that organization only. She has been a member of both IIMC and the Florida Association of City Clerks (FACC) since 2018.

Town Clerk

Laura Aldrich Town Clerk

The Town Clerk is a chartered position which reports to the Town Council. Our Town Clerk is Laura Aldrich, a Master Municipal Clerk (MMC) who was appointed by the Council in August 2005.

The Town Clerk is the custodian of the Town seal and of the official records of the Town. In addition to serving as Clerk to the Town Council, some of the other duties of the Town Clerk include attending and producing minutes from all Council meetings and board or committee meetings, coordinating Town elections, ensuring our ordinances are codified and up to date, providing Notary Services, managing and maintaining this website, managing the Town's cemetery and working closely with other departments. Laura is committed to serving our residents, and is here to assist you with civic information as well as to provide direction and guidance to newcomers.

The official Town Council minutes are found on the Minutes page. For historical Council minutes or those from the Planning, Zoning & Variance Board, the Finance Committee, Code Enforcement Board or Pension Boards, please contact the Town Clerk.

The Code of Ordinances is compiled and maintained by Municipal Code Corporation. Ordinances in process or recently passed are located under the Government tab.

Laura has been a member of both the Florida Association of City Clerks (FACC) and the International Institute of Municipal Clerks (IIMC) since 1998. What municipal clerks are and what they do across the county, state, nation and the world is fully explained on this website by the Florida Association of City Clerks. As of June 2020, there are less than 1,400 master municipal clerks worldwide, and 143 in Florida.

Contact the Town Clerk

Finance Department

Darlene Wiltzius - HR, Finance Department

The Finance Department is responsible for coordination, supervision and administration of all financial operations of the Town. Darlene Wiltzius, who has been with the Town since May 2007, and Heather Christmas, a Certified Public Accountant who has been with the Town since November 2012, share responsibility for accounting; financial analyses and reporting, audit coordination and assistance; budgeting; tax return preparation; bookkeeping functions; and insurance administration.

For budgets and audited financial statements, please see this page on our website. Following completion of the audit of the Town's finances for each Fiscal Year, the audited financial statements are reported to the Finance Committee and then the Town Council, usually by March each year.

Heather Christmas, CPA, Town Treasurer

This link to the State of Florida Retirement Plans website leads to both general information for the public and specific information for employees. Please note the instructions in the third paragraph of that page on how to access information specific to the Town of Indian River Shores' plan.

To reach Darlene or Heather directly, call (772) 231-1771, extension 131 or 132.
Contact the Finance Department

Postal Center

The Town’s Postal Center has been operating since 1973, initially as a Contract Branch until January 2007, when it became a commercial mail facility for the Town. Kara Maresca has been our postal clerk since 2015, and works under the supervision (and with occasional assistance) from Darlene Wiltzius. They provide essential window services, packaging assistance, forward mail and sort customer's incoming mail into rented postal boxes at this facility.

As is true with all staff at Town Hall, the Postal Center is committed to giving special attention to the individual needs of each resident and customer.

The hours of operation of the Postal Center are Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. and it is open during lunch.

The last mail pickup from the Postal Center is 3:30 p.m. For your convenience, the U.S. Postal Service (USPS) has a mail drop box in our circular driveway (pickup 4 p.m. Mon.-Fri.), as does UPS (Pickup 5 p.m.). NOTE: You must have a UPS account for prepayment to use this box. There is no Federal Express drop box at the Municipal Complex, but one is nearby at the Oak Point office building, 5070 N. SR A1A, next to CVS drug store, north east corner (at the back left when facing the building).

Private Mail Boxes are available for rent to residents or the general public with a 6 or 12-month agreement in three sizes. Click here for more information on the Postal Center.